Welcome to this week’s Premier Business Operations newsletter…

So the last week of January is upon us.  Have you taken a hard look at your 2010 results?  Making any changes or following the status quo?  Before I get into this week’s newsletter, I just wanted to remind readers that previous editions can be found online at https://premierbusinessoperations.wordpress.com/ or alternatively by going to the Premier Business Operations website:  www.premier-business-operations.com.   I also wanted to thank everyone that has gone to our Facebook page and become a fan of Premier Business Operations.

I had a Facebook follower and regular reader of my newsletter send me an email this past week asking me what were some of my favorite business quotes and why.  Obviously, they’ve been reading some of my Facebook posts…  so after a little consideration, I thought I would discuss a few that stand out to me.

  • “The purpose of business is to create and keep a customer.”-  Peter Drucker For those of you that may not be familiar with Peter Drucker, I suggest that you Google him when you have a minute of two.  He is known as the “Father Of Modern Management” and his writings influenced such 20th century corporate giants such as Shoichiro Toyoda (former CEO and grandson of the founder of Toyota), Jack Welch (former CEO of GE).  These words are as true today as they were when Drucker first wrote these words over 50 years ago.  Without customers, there is no revenue Without satisfied and loyal customers, businesses flounder since it takes at least ten times as much time or money to find a new customer as it does to retain one.
  • “The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting a different result.” – Benjamin Franklin.  While I attributed this quote to Franklin, other variations are also attributed to Albert Einstein, a Chinese proverb and others.  I first heard a paraphrasing of this quote from my late grandfather when I was young and it has stuck with me most of my life.  While I can’t say that I’ve always followed the message of this quote due to my natural stubbornness, I have really come to believe that it should be “The Eleventh Commandment”.  For business owners that are looking at last year’s bottom line results and wondering where things went amiss, does it really make sense to follow the same path?  It’s probably time to stop wasting precious time and money on the wrong path.  Develop a new plan – fast! 
  • “Control your own destiny or someone else will.” – Jack Welch.  While there are many opinions of how Jack Welch ran GE or thought he may have been too harsh or callous, this quote really stands out to me.  If you as an entrepreneur or business owner are sitting back waiting for the phone to ring or that new customer to walk into your shop, you may be waiting a long time in this economy.  What are you doing to get their attention or engage them?  A soundly executed marketing strategy, leads to better advertising, driving revenue and ultimately driving success.
  • “Keep on charging the enemy as long as there is life” – AnonymousThere’s actually a funny story behind this one… I first saw this quote over 25 years ago in a Chinese fortune cookie and it has stuck with me ever since.  So, why does this one stand out?  No matter what your occupation or business, the message is clear – never give up.  As every small business owner or entrepreneur should realize, tenacity and drive are two ever-present traits.  As one quickly finds out, owning your own business has many peaks and valleys – when you’re in a valley, you need to keep fighting and clawing doing whatever is necessary to get to the next peak.
  • 

Premier Business Operations has the ability to help you analyze your past situation, develop a new marketing strategy and take an active role in its execution.  To find out more about how Premier Business Operations can help you follow the road to success, please visit our website at www.premier-business-operations.com or contact us at information@premier-business-operations.com

Also for all of you Facebook users, you can now find us and “become a fan” on Facebook for more regular updates as well as to read contributions by other followers.  Simply search for Premier Business Operations or click here.

